Now and then.

I kinda dislike going to school on fridays cos the weekends are coming and it time to party! But but but, today was a fairly interesting day at school. Saw things which took me by a big big surprise and in fact, wowed me(I’m going to start seeing some people from an entirely different perspective), and, learnt about things I can’t believe I never knew.

My sociology lecturer said, “So you come to NUS, find a girlfriend, graduate, find a job, get married, apply for a HDB, have children, work and die. In the past, students rally together with workers, get involved in politics and riots, speak their minds and held firmly to what they believe in, and even burnt buses. SO in comparision, you all are quite boring.”

That really tickled me, for that moment. Looking back, it’s true. It’s sad that as the society progresses, we, students, or as you like, young adults are just so pre-occupied in studies and mugging that we forget it’s a big big world out there. Haha, of cos, I ain’t speaking for the young adults in the same age as me, maybe I’m the only ignorant one to not be out there, not making a real difference (cliche as it sounds, I know).

 I don’t know if anyone feels the same way as me, but for me, I always been waiting for a big break, a big wow, something that really makes me feel “I’m really living!” but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy my undergrad life now. School is good, but I’v always felt that besides school, there is something, something else that I can embark upon too.

As of now, I can’t exactly tell you what it is that would make me feel that way–maybe singing, or maybe fashion. Hmm, I don’t know.

Maybe you can tell me times have changed.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ms blogreader
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 19:40:40

    Maybe people r just more selfish
    and self-centred now
    as compared to the past…

    Maybe Americanisation led us away from collectivism
    and towards individualism.

    Or maybe,
    evolution over the years
    has put the guts in people

    so we all dare to show our not-so-noble side
    so we all dare to show our true-blue selfish,
    side.

    Wat say u? ;P

  2. Gracey
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 22:15:54

    Hey, I’m taking sociology this semester too =) The lecturer also ask us to look at society from a diff perspective.. But the thing is only a few of us wil look at things from a slightly diff perspective.. Wil that minority make a difference to the majority? Our strength are so minute.. The society is pushed by the society.. Quite sad right? But what can we do?

  3. fe
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 10:10:23

    your Soci’s so much better than mine. i only learned about the Dead White Men – Durkheim, Weber and Marx. Parsons and hoho! i forgot the last one!

    for some people, they will have their big break (but with alot of emotional baggage perhaps?) and some will live their lives quietly (and contentedly). i wanted to live a “hong hong lie lie” life but i don’t see myself going that direction….

    when do you wanna watch Ratatouille?

  4. jaslin
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 00:07:25

    I guess as the society progesses, we do get more self-centred. Look at us now, maybe we have been leading lives that are too stable, or trapped in our comfort zone we forget how it is like for people who don’t lead the same comfortable lives as we do.

    It’s now all about me, myself and I. We stopped looking around, only comparing, asking for more?

    p.s. fe, fri?

Leave a Reply

