Pseudo-Jaslin

I just told my mum that I’m going to hold my 21st at Macdonald’s. Bad joke–she took me for real and started telling me that everyone would bring their nephews and nieces instead.

Then, my brain went on to indulge on a string of crazy ideas, which I have offhand now. Note: It’s “crazy”.

1) (picking up from the conversation I had with my mum) I may be having a 21st with “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” as a theme.  Unique, isn’t it? To have a breakfast party. Bet some of you think it’s going to be a killer..we all know how difficult it is to wake up early on a weekend, dress up appropiately (and according to the theme). But then again, won’t it be fun? Plus, it’s a good way to kickstart a healthy lifestyle.  Ladies, get ready to bring out your classic LBD and those pearl necklaces!

2) Allow my hair to grow–till shoulder length or longer, with my current bangs. Which means, I have to have a tonne of determination off my back. Which I don’t think I have, when it comes to letting my hair grow.

3) Enrol into the Parson New School of Design. The main Parsons campus is located in Greenwich Village, New York City; its well-known Fashion department is located prominently in the heart of the city’s Garment District in midtown! I don’t mind being the oldest student there, in future! (Only if, I can draw. Did I mention that the human beings I draw looks like fishball on a stick?)

4) Work for a Fashion magazine(The likes of Elle and Vogue!) overseas. Nevermind how low the position is, as long as I can breathe and be exposed to Fashion!

5) Have a tattoo. A small black one. Of wad? Definately not someone else’s name (I think that’s crazy! I mean, I’ll freak out if anyone tattoos my name! I swear I leap off to the futhest continent. Unless of cos, I’m hopelessly, and stupidly in love), a heart, a rose or anything along that line(Erk!). Maybe my name, in another language. But my mum will freak out and so will everybody else, including myself(when everyone freaks out and go “Why Jaslin?”, “Was it pain?”, “Why this tattoo/why here?”).

Disclaimer: This is not really Jaslin typing. Ok, maybe it is. Maybe. I don’t know! It’s one of those moments in which she indulges in thinking about everything else but her exams.

So please, don’t freak out about that tattoo(I told Esther about it and she was really funny–she said, “A temporary one?” and I replied with a resounding “No!”. She looked at me for a while and then went, “Oh” ) because I think tattoos are dangerous. For one, they’re permanent (wad if your skin sags? the ink fades?) and more importantly, the society is constantly trying to label people. With a tattoo, I will probably propel the “she-is-a-wild-girl” impression to a higher level. Of which, I ain’t exactly keen to allow that to happen. 

Simply because, I’m just that girl who enjoys staying at home, talking to my cat and bunny, and typing random entries on her blog.

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. YS
    May 04, 2008 @ 01:21:12

    every item from 1-5 seems fine. Except for the breakfast part. ya. It’s no fun to get out of bed. (I assume i’m invited.) heh

  2. papersky
    May 04, 2008 @ 03:14:05

    removal of tattoos is more painful than the actual thing!! So please don’t get any tattoos until u r sure u won’t want to remove it! Plus the ink is scary!!

  3. Chris
    May 04, 2008 @ 06:17:29

    Haha… keep those dreams. When you go outside to see the world for what it truly is, try to stay as innocent as you are.

  4. wenqi
    May 04, 2008 @ 15:44:33

    I’m all for the LBD party! Hahaha… It’s your party, you have your say 😉

  5. MR Q
    May 04, 2008 @ 17:04:56

    all are not crazy!
    but within threshold… well done, nice restrain of yourself…

    but why keep your crazy thoughts in reign?

    time to..

    UNLEASH!

    its time to disturb hegemonic social/cultural constructions. time to subvert stereotyped norms.

    life will be boring n mundane without some form of transgression?

    right?

    maybe not.

  6. Chris
    May 04, 2008 @ 21:00:57

    Wa cheem…

  7. Jaslin
    May 05, 2008 @ 10:27:05

    YS> haha, Hmm, it won’t be too early! Maybe ten? Maybe a Sexy Pillow fight the night before, then Breakfast at Tiffany’s the next morning. You know me–I’m not quite normal, almost crazy. Haha, and I don’t see a need for a party if you girls are not invited!

    Papersky> Fret not! If I ever really wanna do it, I’ll think bout all the consequences! haha..I may be crazy, but still quite rational (ok, maybe, I’m still reconciling with the stark contrast between the two)

    Wenqi> Haha, LBD eh? I like too! but am afraid it will be too boring.

    Mr Q> Nice restrain of myself? Maybe not, given many people think I’m “so wild”. Haha. To disturb Hegemonic social constructions? As much as I would love to, it’s gonna take me a hell lot of courage! But I definately agree that life would be mundane without any form of transgression. Still, maybe someone needs to get me dead drunk (to a stage where I’m unware of my surroundings) first.

    Chris> Keep those dreams? Definately, if not, what do you think is keeping me away from going insane? Haha, Mr Q is one smarty

Leave a Reply

