As the clock strikes

As I sit in front of my computer, I tried to think about what I have to say about turning 21…I switched off my phone, hoping for some peace for reflection. The past few days have been crazy(I slept a lot); I think it’s the pressure of having an approaching birthday. It may just be another day but I think turning 21, it entails. Expectations. And I wonder if I can live up to it all. Maybe the start of eye cream, more SPF, the lookout for wrinkles? I’m vain wad.

Nevertheless, I’m thankful.
For the wonderful family I have,
For the friends who look beyond my intimidating/fierce exterior, who accepts my cynicism,
For the opportunities to pursue my passion, to sing on the few but treasured stage,
For the many more unknown and unexpected; tears and laughter; love and heartbreaks; mistakes and lessons; desserts and orgasmic experiences(haha!).

To sum it up, perhaps it’s like me baking. I bake with excitment, yet with my heart prepared to handle mishaps and failures, ready to start all over again.


A special dedication

It’s not so easy lovin’ me, it gets so complicated
All the things you gotta be.
Everything’s changing but you’re the truth,
I’m amazed by all your patience,
Everything I put you through.

And when I’m about to fall, somehow you’re always waiting
Your open arms to catch me.
You’re gonna save me from myself

My love is tainted by your touch, well some guys have shown me aces
But you got that royal flush.
I know it’s crazy every day, well tomorrow may be shaky
But you never turn away.

Don’t ask me why I’m crying cause when I start to crumble
You know how to keep me smiling.
You always save me from myself.

I know it’s hard, it’s hard
But you’ve broken all my walls.
You’ve been my strength, so strong.

And don’t ask me why I love you,
It’s obvious your tenderness,
Is what I need to make me,
A better woman,
To myself.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shujun
    Jul 10, 2008 @ 20:20:47

    (: Happy (actual) birthday!

  2. sharon
    Jul 12, 2008 @ 04:07:33

    Happy belated 21st, Jaslin!!! 😀

  3. Jaslin
    Jul 13, 2008 @ 14:35:09

    =) Thank you!

Leave a Reply

