Falling slowly

For some strange reason, songs I didn’t know exist in my iTunes pops out once in a blue moon.
More than often, these new songs are songs I skip, without giving them a listen.

But there was this once.
I was in the bus, feeling bad about my day.
Feeling horrible, I couldn’t be bothered to control my Ipod. And so I did, let the list run wild and free in its shuffle mode.

Then came this song. The distinct introduction with the violin, the apt lyrics. This song took my breath away instantaneously. I fall slowly. Which made me realise that the worse part of falling slowly, is that you know you’re inching towards trouble slowly, yet surely and refusing to pull yourself out.

Falling slowly, by The Frames.

I don’t know you but I want you
All the more for that
Words fall through me
And always fool me
And I can’t react
And games that never amount
To more than they’re meant
Will play themselves out
Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
You’ve made it now
Falling slowly sing your melody
I’ll sing along

Psst. Another viersion of this song, sang by Glen Hansard (of The Frames) & Marketa Irglova, received a 2007 Academy Award for Best Original Song and the soundtrack for the movie, Once, also received a Grammy nomination. Click here for the other version. Equally beautiful.

Leave a Reply

