Saturday Morning, 6.28am

Every morning, as I get off the bed, I think back for a little while and realise that for the past 3 nights in Lboro, I’ve been dreaming about people back in SG. Strange, I know, but I guess since I’ve been leading a loner’s life for the past few days (roomie hasn’t moved in, my neighbors are party animals, who dances to Bhangra in the middle of the night and I dare say, sleep through what I call the day), I think it’s inevitable to think of the people back home. But of cos, I’m not home-sick, yet. And I’m hoping it doesn’t set in anytime soon. Cos I’m away for only 5 months!

Afterwhich, I will get to my window, and take a peek out of the window–to check if it’s snowing. Phew, no snow today.

Afterall, I’m trying to fall into a routine that will put me back into the normalcy of life. Which is why I tried to establish a joggoing route yesterday, and man, it felt real good to be able to jog in the cold(must make sure neck and chest and well protected!) Makes me feel al warm and good after all the adrenaline rush. I usually feel restless when I don’t jog.

And…I’m still trying to get my modules settled–I dare say it has been crazy, and definitely not easy. It drives me nuts!! Urgh. I think I pretty much screwed myself up? Help me…it’s a Saturday, so I haven’t got any replies…Can’t imagine I have to wait any longer for them to get back to me.

Looking at the brighter side, I’m settled into my room pretty well. Now, my clothes have hangers to hang in, have got jams to spead the bread, teapot for the water, tonnes of moistuisers, and I ain’t waking up so many times in the middle of the night because of the cold (it’s down to once, yesteday –where I woke up at 3am to put on long pants to sleep). But really, walking to Tesco for grocey shopping really helps to burn calories..not that I’m complaining, but walking with bags and bags of stuff, with your hands exposed to the cold ain’t very easy…So when I walk back in heels, in the snow, with bag full of stuff in the cold, I think to myself, “Survive this damn walk home, and you can loudly proclaim you’e independent! Walk on and don’t act like a freaking damsel in distess.”..

So hopefully, first comes all the shit, then comes the joy and fun.

I’m still keeping my fingers crossed. Give me my modules lah.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. papersky
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 20:05:51

    waaaaa. you walk in the snow in heels carrying groceries! *bows*.
    Hope you get your mods soon darling! =)

  2. Jaslin
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 20:07:20

    haha, yes. but tt was not a choice. when alone in another continent, i realise if i want it all, i’ve gotta face it all.

    thanks dear, i hope so too..

  3. esotericmind87
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 23:06:35

    jogging in the cold and walking in heels to tesco?! i was in lboro with shao/xiaohui for about a week in total in dec and tesco is not near!

    treasure the quiet now cos when everything is in full swing..you’ll wish that you could just have it back again. and you’ll settled in fast(: you did everything alone?

    you is power. hehs

  4. Jaslin
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 23:19:48

    haha, i had no choice! cos everyone told me, “it’s a 10 mins walk!”, and when i started walking, i realise, ok, that’s a few 10 mins!

    when u’re alone, u realise if u want something, u just have to get out and get it. thankfully, it’s not soooooo cold anymore!

    and i wanna see u soon! haha, before the food becomes un-crispy! =D

  5. esotericmind87
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 06:02:20

    yup come up to durham soon!

    weekends are generally alright and i dont usually have school on tues and weds too. the train journey is about 3hrs + and about would cost ~46 pounds i think – depending if you have a railcard, which is a very worthy investment:)

    just fb msg me when you decide its a good time for you. as you can see..im working on the assumption that you are definitely going to come up. haha. stay warm!

  6. Janise
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 20:09:10

    Lin, why no emails in jaslin_lurve?

  7. wenqi
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 23:09:15

    Miss independent woman, yeah! Haha ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m sure you’ll have a blast @ UK so much that you may not want to go home in the end. Oh my ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. yunjoy
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 22:19:34

    hugs for you!

  9. Jaslin
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 03:54:04

    Jane> haha, I think I will come up to visit you in the next few weeks! I’ve only got a 3 day week anyway! haha! And I’m definitely getting the railcard! heard it makes a whole lot of difference!

    Jie> I emailed..no replies!

    Wenqi> haha, well, i still have 5 more months, which seems like a long time u know! we’ll see! =D

    Yunjoy> I miss u!

  10. Mr Q
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 17:45:43

    oi, pics pls!

Leave a Reply

