So far….

(Disclaimer: This is going to be quite a boring post. Well, not exactly boring, but it’s kinda too narrative to pass off as a decent blog entry.)

The Brits drink a lot.
Yes, they really do. For the past week, we were anticipating a fire drill, and so, on Wed night, at 2.30am, the alarm came on (which kinda traumatised Eve and I. Yep, Eve is my German Roomie.) And so we headed down to the assembly point (I was in my PE shirt and shorts…so I was freezing). Looked around and realised that most of my neighbours just got back from clubbing, and were very drunk. The highlight of the night was, when the warden came out to inform us that it’s not a fire drill… apparently, someone broke into the kitchen. It was crazy la, with all the drunk people trying to volunteer themselves responsible for the break-in… I have to admit it’s quite hilarious when I think back but when I was there, out in the winter cold, it was not very funny….

And when I was jogging today, the soccer team were doing their weekend trainging.. and viola, they kicked the ball over the fence…and it was just in front of me. So I had to stop my jog, put my keys and iPod on the floor and attempt to throw the ball over a 8m fence! Gosh, I hate balls and fence. I tried multiple times but the ball just wouldn’t get over the fence! Can you imagine how maluating that was? To try to throw a soccer ball over the fence, with 50 pairs of eyes staring back at you… yes, it was very stressful indeed…
And so, I said “I’ll just jog over and pass the ball to you…” That was when all the guys over the fence said, “No no! try again. Throw it over ur head….(and then they went on about how I should throw the ball over..)”
But of cos, Jaslin is not going to continue embarrassing herself –so I picked up the ball and started to jog to the entrance of the court. Thankfully, there was a cyclist who passed by and helped me with the throw-over-the-fence act. (I just love the cyclist and joggers here… cos they’re always ready to smile and help!)
Now now, I’m going to sprint pass the soccer field the next time I see them practice.

Here for almost 4 weeks, and I think I’m slowly loving the life here. Bit by bit. It’s like when I was at Birmingham last week, and was really tired from all the crazy walking and shopping, I blurted out, “I want to go home.” And when I said “home”, I meant my cosy room in Butler Court.
Nonetheless, I haven’t forgotten all the wonderful people back home, and my lovely messy home.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. esotericmind87
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 08:56:55

    haha we have had a couple of firedrills here too. cant stand the high-pitched siren cos it just rattles your bones and makes you just want to escape.

    and yeah its strange how your room in lboro quickly becomes home eh. it was the same for me too:)

    hope you are getting along fine:) made up plans for easter yet?

  2. Jayne
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 12:26:50

    Miss the person beside you on your bed already right? I understand laaa(:

  3. Jaslin
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 22:39:42

    Jane> yes, the sound of siren makes u wanna run as fast as u can! it’s effective! haha, and it’s funny that i accidentally blurted out my room as “home” so quickly, without having the intention to do so!

    I still wanna travel up to visit u, and pass u stuff, before it softens. haha, i’ll be going to italy in april, followed by paris, then back to London for SG day. but will be rotting for the first week of easter! U?

    Jayne> my my..so thick skinned. u must be loving the big bed!

  4. esotericmind87
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 06:59:12

    haha. you have 2 more weekends before the term is out! you could come up with debbie [hope she rems her intentions to see durham too(:]

    my mom and brother are flying up to visit me/travel so i’ll be in scotland and paris during the 1st week. and im going to wales on the 2nd week. and heading down to london for sg day too! in between..i shall have to try to study. hehs(:

  5. Jayne
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 11:49:17

    Of course loving the big bed,the winnie the pooh elephant is taking over you for a moment! (:

  6. Jaslin
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 06:45:27

    Jane> Haha! oh yes! U know Debbie too! U know, she thot u’re doing English! haha, I told her, “I want to go to Durham to visit my friend!”.. she said, “I’ve a friend there from NUS doing English..” and then, we realise we’re talking about u! good good, i will ask her soon!

    and yay, u’re going for SG day too! good good! can’t wait for all the good food la!

    Jayne> erm, so now a toy elephant is taking my place… idiot. to think i’m so nice to send u stuff! let me know when u receive it!

Leave a Reply

